Arturo Sandoval to release ‘ULTIMATE DUETS’ this month

Ten-time Grammy winner Arturo Sandoval will release his new album “Ultimate Duets” on May 18, 2018.  Marking Sandoval’s first release in five years, the album finds artists from the worlds of pop, jazz, classical and Latin music coming together for the Cuban maestro’s first duets release. At the outset of recording, Arturo simply asked each participant to suggest a favorite song they would like to reimagine with the trumpet legend, and the results are as wide-ranging and illustrious as the list of collaborators.

“Andante, Andante” features the awaited return of the globally recognized voice of ABBA’s Anni-Frid Lyngstad. This is the first time that a member of the Swedish supergroup had returned to the studio to record one of their classics.

Stevie Wonder choose to record “People” (which he and Sandoval first performed at a Grammy tribute to Barbara Streisand), whereas Prince Royce recorded Stevie Wonder’s  “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing” as a contemporary Bachata.

Many other magic moments materialized as the project grew, such as Alejandro Sanz (who appears on his own duet of “Corazon Partio”) brilliantly suggesting the addition of guitar legend Vicente Amigo to a flamenco infused version of Placido Domingo’s classic “Granada”. 

Participating in the album inspired Pharrell Williams to write the new, personal and specifically titled “Arturo Sandoval” with an invitation also extended to Ariana Grande.  Arturo requested his longtime friend Al Jarreau to revisit the famed hit “After All,” which became even more emotional and timeless as it became Jarreau’s final recording, with the vocalist sadly passing away soon after the song’s completion.

Similarly, Sandoval could not envision completing a full duets album without playing alongside the distinctive voice of his beloved friend and Cuban music icon Celia Cruz.  The album is rounded out with additional duets with the powerful voice of Josh Groban, revered Dominican maestro Juan Luis Guerra, and Spain’s dynamic pop vocalist David Bisbal.

Ultimate Duets Track Listing

  1. “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing”     – Sandoval & Prince Royce
  2.  “Corazon Partio”     – Sandoval & Alejandro Sanz
  3.  “People”     – Sandoval & Stevie Wonder
  4.  “Granada”     – Sandoval & Plácido Domingo Ft. Vicente Amigo
  5.  “Arturo Sandoval”     – Sandoval & Pharell Williams & Ariana Grande
  6.  “Solo Esta Soledad”     – Sandoval & Josh Groban
  7.  “La Bilirrubina”     – Sandoval & Juan Luis Guerra
  8.  “Andante, Andante”     – Sandoval & Anni-Frid Lyngstadt
  9.  “El Ruido”     – Sandoval & David Bisbal
  10.  “After All”     – Sandoval & Al Jarreau
  11. Quimbara”     – Sandoval & Celia Cruz



Without a doubt, this will be an album worth owning. You can pre-order yours now here.